MSTRMND / Comparisons

MSTRMND vs Fivestars: What Changed When It Became SumUp Connect

MSTRMND vs Fivestars needs one clarification first: SumUp acquired Fivestars in 2021, and the business marketing suite is now called SumUp Connect. This page compares what it offers with MSTRMND, and who each suits, especially if you are in the UK.

Choose between them

  1. Check where you trade
  2. Ask about payments ties
  3. Get a written price
  4. Compare how customers join

Check availability before features.

MSTRMND vs Fivestars: the short answer

Fivestars is no longer a standalone brand for businesses. The fivestars.com address now leads to SumUp’s loyalty and marketing pages, SumUp describes the Fivestars suite as SumUp Connect, and some SumUp pages still say “Fivestars by SumUp”. It is a loyalty and marketing platform from a payments company, with US-oriented pages and a US text-message sign-up.

MSTRMND is a wallet loyalty card system built for the UK, Poland and Germany. If you are a UK venue and want a published price and a card in the customer’s wallet, MSTRMND is built for that. If you are a US business already on SumUp, its loyalty tools sit close to your payments. We are MSTRMND, so read this with that in mind. Where the other product is the better fit, we say so. New to wallet cards? Start with our guide to digital loyalty cards.

What SumUp Connect offers

SumUp’s loyalty page describes SumUp Connect as an always-on marketing and loyalty tool. It lists AutoPilot messaging, AI-enhanced messages, a customer database that tracks activity with every transaction, loyalty and rewards, customer acquisition that shows offers on nearby customers’ screens, performance insights and a review feature. Its demo form lists coffee shops, quick-service restaurants, restaurants, retail, bars and breweries, beauty and barber, and gyms.

SumUp’s materials describe customers joining a programme by texting a business-specific keyword to a number, and SumUp completed its acquisition of Fivestars on 28 October 2021. The loyalty page shows no prices and does not say whether hardware or payment processing is required. Check those with SumUp.

MSTRMND vs Fivestars (SumUp Connect) at a glance

Facts about the other product come from its own public pages, checked 11 October 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy.

MSTRMNDFivestars (now SumUp Connect)
Who runs itMSTRMNDSumUp, since the 2021 acquisition
Home marketUK, Poland, GermanyPages found are US-oriented
How customers joinScan a QR code, add a wallet cardText-message keyword, as SumUp’s materials describe
MessagingPush, WhatsApp, SMS, geo-push by planAutoPilot messaging, AI-enhanced messages
Customer databaseSegments from recency, frequency, spendTracks activity with every transaction
Published price£31, £69, £115 a month, billed annuallyNot shown on the loyalty page
Payments tie-inNone. Works with any tillNot stated on the loyalty page

Where you are matters

The pages we found are SumUp’s US pages, and the text-message sign-up uses a US number. A UK venue should check whether the product is offered in the UK before comparing features. SumUp has a UK presence as a payments company, but we cannot confirm the same loyalty suite is available there. Ask.

MSTRMND is UK-first, with UK pricing in pounds, support on WhatsApp and a company address in London. That does not make it better, but it removes a question a UK buyer would otherwise have to settle first.

MSTRMND vs Fivestars: where SumUp Connect is the better choice

  • You are a US business and want loyalty from the company that takes your payments.
  • You want automated messaging that runs on its own.
  • You want a customer acquisition feature that shows your offers to nearby shoppers.
  • You want your customer database tied to every transaction.

MSTRMND vs Fivestars: where MSTRMND is the better choice

  • You are a UK, Polish or German venue and want local pricing and support.
  • You want a published price: £31, £69 or £115 a month billed annually.
  • You want customers to hold a card in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, with no text-message keyword.
  • You want WhatsApp, segments and geo-push from the card.
  • You do not want your loyalty tied to one payments provider.

Questions to ask SumUp before you sign

MSTRMND vs Fivestars turns on a few facts that SumUp’s loyalty page does not state. Ask SumUp for them in writing.

  • Is SumUp Connect offered in the country where I trade?
  • Do I have to use SumUp payments to use it?
  • What is the price, the contract length and the cancellation process?
  • How do customers join where I trade: a text keyword, a card or something else?
  • Where is my customer data stored, and can I export it?

We will answer the same five for MSTRMND. In particular, MSTRMND does not tie loyalty to a payments provider.

How to decide in ten minutes

  • Check where you trade and whether the product is offered there.
  • Ask whether you must use its payments to use its loyalty.
  • Ask for a written price and the contract length.
  • Think about how customers join: a text keyword or a card.
  • Check where your data lives.

Frequently asked questions

Is Fivestars still a separate product?

Not as a standalone business brand. SumUp completed its acquisition of Fivestars on 28 October 2021, and the fivestars.com address now leads to SumUp’s loyalty pages. SumUp describes the marketing suite as SumUp Connect, and some pages still say Fivestars by SumUp. Check SumUp for the current name and what it includes.

Is MSTRMND an alternative to Fivestars?

For a UK, Polish or German venue wanting a loyalty system, yes. MSTRMND issues a wallet card with no app, with WhatsApp, segments and geo-push on higher plans, and it publishes its prices. SumUp Connect is aimed at US businesses on its pages, with a text-message sign-up, so check availability where you trade.

Do I need SumUp payments to use SumUp Connect?

The loyalty page we found does not say. Ask SumUp directly, and ask about any hardware or processing requirements. MSTRMND does not tie loyalty to a payments provider: the wallet card works at any till, and the Scanner App is included on every plan.

How much does each cost?

MSTRMND publishes £31, £69 and £115 a month when billed annually. SumUp’s loyalty page shows no prices. Ask SumUp for a written quote and the contract length, and compare it against the MSTRMND plan that matches your locations and clients.

Key takeaways

  • SumUp acquired Fivestars in 2021, and its business suite is now called SumUp Connect.
  • The pages we found are US-oriented, so a UK venue should check availability first.
  • MSTRMND is UK-first, with published prices in pounds and a wallet card with no app.
  • SumUp’s loyalty page shows no prices. MSTRMND shows all three.
  • Ask whether loyalty is tied to a payments provider.

Keep reading

Compare it on your own numbers

Book a call and we will compare your venue against both, and tell you plainly where each is available and which fits. Whichever way MSTRMND vs Fivestars falls for you, the call is where we check availability where you trade first.